Skip to main content


The Attorney General, Rossa Fanning SC, is the legal adviser to the Government and is therefore the chief law officer of the State. The Office of the Attorney General is made up of a number of different offices.

The Attorney General's Office contains the Advisory Counsel to the Attorney General and the Office of Parliamentary Counsel to the Government as well as the Chief State Solicitor's Office (CSSO).

Advisory Counsel

The Advisory side of the Attorney General's Office comprises of lawyers who specialise in specific areas of law. There are three grades of Advisory Counsel Grade I (Assistant Secretary), Grade II (Principal Officer) and Grade III (Assistant Principal Officer).....

Read More about the Advisory Counsel

Parliamentary Counsel
Dáil Chamber

The Office of the Parliamentary Counsel to the Government comprises a team of specialist lawyers trained to a high level in the discipline of drafting legislation. The Office is a constituent part of the Office of the Attorney General.

Read More about the Parliamentary Counsel

Chief State Solicitor's Office
Four Courts, Dublin

The Chief State Solicitor's Office provides litigation services together with a wide range of legal services not involving litigation, such as advisory and conveyancing services. In effect, the function of the Chief State Solicitor is to act as the solicitor to Ireland.....

Visit the Chief State Solicitor's Office Website